Joe McGrory wins GASS 2013!

May 11, 2013

Last night at GASS 2013 everyone was a winner!

First up was the announcement for the winners of the Animate48 Competition. Animate48 is a 48 hour animation competition where college level students were required to create an animated film based on the theme provided by ASIFA-Colorado.  This year’s theme had the participants creating an animation with a Yeti, a thimble, snow, and a pair of sneakers. Second place had a prize of $250 and went to Kachina Rice.  First place, with a prize of $500 went to Jeremy Encinias and Brandon Aragon.  Judging was done by the ASIFA-Colorado Board.

Next the Graduate Reels were shown.  Graduate reels were shown to the audience which then voted on the best film of the graduates.  Prizes included a top prize of $150 and a membership to ASIFA-Colorado, 2nd place was a $50 prize with a membership to ASIFA-Colorado and there were also a couple of runner-up prizes of $25 each.  Congratulations to Joe McGrory for ASIFA-Colorado Best Animation Short with his film The Dollar Menu! Wayne Sullivan took 2nd place with his film Harpooned. First runner-up was Angelica “Jelly” Russell with her film, Candle Dance. And Sunrise Jaramillo took 2nd runner-up with her film, Moments Between Winter and Spring.  Congratulations to everyone involved!

Leave a Reply